Flowers at My Grave

Standard

My first IGIC post!! 🙂

The most dangerous disease that will ever strike man is procrastination. As humans, we tend to carry this trait dominantly.

I remember an incident that happened to a fifth grade peer. She was a year older than me, and even though we didn’t know each other very well, we were distant friends.

Lana* was around 10 years old. She went to my same school in Saudi Arabia, and I looked up to her because she began wearing hijab that year. Lana was smart and beautiful, unique, and particularly funny. I especially admired Lana for finding the courage to wear the hijab at such a young age.

At the year’s end, Lana’s world changed. The city of Riyadh was showered with unexpected bombings. Lana’s house was even bombed, but she survived along with her family, unhurt. Naturally, though, the bombings were a huge scare for the city, and our school was worried and concerned about student safety, so they decided to end school early.

As the year came to an end, Lana and her family left to her older brother’s high school graduation. It was a wonderful, happy event, until they left home. It was written down for Lana to die that evening. Her family was in a car accident, and by the will of Allah, the angel of death visited her that night.

Verily! With Allah (Alone) is the knowledge of the Hour, He sends down the rain, and knows that which is in the wombs. No person knows what he will earn tomorrow, and no person knows in what land he will die. Verily, Allah is All Knower, All Aware (of things). [Surat Luqman: 34]

When I got a phone call the next morning (I was only 9), I didn’t really get it. My mind couldn’t wrap itself around her death, her departure from this world. Now that I remember this incident, and the beautiful girl Lana once was, it truly inspires and reminds me of how life is so unexpectedly short.

Lana began wearing the hijab, and who could have known that she was to die that particular year? Lana may have sensed her upcoming death, because earlier the day of the accident, she went around giving people flowers, telling them to put the flowers at her grave. But no one knows exactly when their time will come, and many die without warning. Subhan Allah – Lana’s house had been bombed earlier that year, but Allah willed her to die in a different state! Now, as I ponder the past, I feel so content and happy that Lana made her decision to wear hijab when she did.

For all of us procrastinators out there, just remember: life is short. Imagine if Lana had known she had to wear hijab, but decided it wasn’t time yet. What would it have been like for her?

Someone once told me long time ago that you are never ready for something until you actually take the first step in doing it. That is when you are ready.

No person knows what he will earn tomorrow, and no person knows in what land he will die. [Surat Luqman: 34]

Who knows if tomorrow will ever come. As for the present, hear a command and don’t hesitate to obey.

Check it out here.

4 responses »

  1. Subhanallah! i remember u telling me something about this. It’s amazing how one little girl can inspire so many others, even after her time has passed.

Leave a comment