Ummi & Abi!

Standard

So, my dad asked me if I could change my blog name to bintAbi πŸ™‚ so I did! Its truly such a blessing to have awesome parents. Alhamduliah. Parents who will strive to help you, who will be there for you in the times of difficulty- to be a helping hand. And to be there in times of happiness, a cheerful face! SubhanaAllah then i started thinking about the role of parents and how much effort it takes to please them and if their pleasure is a one way ticket to jannah I want it- inshAllah! A parents love is so high, they nurture you and take care of you and sacrifice their living for you!

Alhamdulliah

Whats so amazing is that obeying your parents is the first commandment after bare witnessing the oneness of Allah subhanahu wa’taala! So we see its kinda very important πŸ™‚

23. And your Lord has decreed that you worship none but Him. And that you be dutiful to your parents. If one of them or both of them attain old age in your life, say not to them a word of disrespect, nor shout at them but address them in terms of honour.

[Surat AlIsraa]

They are the only ones with you from the day you are born to your first steps, your first day in high school, your graduation, your wedding, and so on. Now as parents get older, they loose their energy and now its our time to pay them back… Its pretty amazing if you think about it subhanAllah. We were once weak and always needed a helping hand, now its our turn to be that helping hand.

24. And lower unto them the wing of submission and humility through mercy, and say: “My Lord! Bestow on them Your Mercy as they did bring me up when I was small.”

[Surat AlIsraa]

And doing so is paying back a small price. We could sit beside them for years obeying anything they tell us to do and still our effort will never reach the sacrifice they have done.

SubhanAllah the quran repeatedly reminds us to be good to our parents and not just good but have birr. I see it as a whole package. You can’t be good in one way and not obedient in another, it all comes in one package.Β  That is why its a ticket to jannah, subhanAllah how hard is it to be a pleasing son/daughter.

14. And We have enjoined on man (to be dutiful and good) to his parents. His mother bore him in weakness and hardship upon weakness and hardship, and his weaning is in two years give thanks to Me and to your parents, unto Me is the final destination.

[Surat Luqman]

And then you see the consequences for not being the best of a daughter/son you can. Not only does it screw up your dunya, but you won’t get anywhere in the akhira, wa aliathu billah!

Now we all know what takes you out of the borders of Islam, worshiping someone/thing else with Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala. As I mentioned before obedience comes right after the worship of Allah subhanahu. So the disobedience of our parents is RIGHT AFTER KUFUR!! Lets try not to go there!

Anas narrated from Prophet Muhammad about the major sins. He (Mohammed) observed: Associating anyone with God, disobedience to parents, killing a person and false utterance. (Muslim)

Another reminder; I sometimes see a lot of people not realizing the VERY high status our mothers posses! How could someone say ‘Ugh i hate her!’ asta’furallah its so sad. I realize what my mom does for me. She is there at any time of the day, if I have a problem she can be a best friend. If I need a hug, she is there to give me a ‘special mom’ hug! And of course if i want someone to eat ice cream with me πŸ™‚ shes always there!

A man came to the Prophet and asked him for permission to join a military expedition. The Prophet asked him if he had a mother, and when he replied that he had, he said, “Stay with her, for Paradise is at her feet.” (Ahmad)

Now lets see what the parents get out of raising good children:

β€˜A’isha reported: A poor woman came to me along with her daughters. I gave her three dates. She gave a date to each of them and then she took up one date and brought that to her mouth in order to eat that, but her daughters expressed desire to eat it. She then divided the date that she intended to eat between them. This (kind) treatment of her impressed me and I mentioned that which she did to Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him). Thereupon he said: Verily Allah has assured Paradise for her, because of (this act) of her, or He has rescued her from Hell-Fire. (Muslim)

This is a reminder to me foremost but it can always be of benefit. I ask Allah subhanahu to keep us stead fast on His path and to be obedient to our parents and earn their utmost love! Ameen.

Walahu a’lam (I hope i made sense =)

4 responses »

  1. Awww I love Umi And Abi πŸ˜€ (Even if Dad is a little jealous of my name…hey what can I say its your mother thrice then your dad! But way to win brownie points with him oh Daddy’s girl πŸ™‚ )

    On a more serious note, I love LOVE LOVE the imagery in the Ayah
    from surat AlIsra “And lower unto them the wing…”
    SubhanAllah it just amazes me!

    It doesn’t say “be your parents slave and worship them” astaghfurillah, but the image of lowering wings to me is like lowering your ego- to be humble to them in manner and speech.

    And it fits perfectly….since its your parents that gave you those wings of confidence and assurance, they taught you to fly…..

    But then do we pay them back with arrogance as if they had nothing to with it? No, “lower unto them the wing of submission and humility….”

    And then what do you ask of Allah? To have mercy upon them just like they raised you when you were small- again in my eyes I imagine being a child and them helping me every step of the way to fly….and seriously parents’ only wish is to see you flying high….

Leave a Reply

