Thank You, Mommy.

Standard

Bismilah,

I realized something the other day, and it is how we portray our moms behind their backs. In class i realized how people would speak so ill of their moms, i mean i know nothing about their mothers but they way they portrayed them was disgusting.

One kid was going on about how his mother was his house keeper, because someone mentioned their house keeper (that isn’t their mom). I was in utter shock; “Yep that is all she’s good for”.Another kid was talking about how his mother cooks, and how he’s in charge of everything she does for him. One girl was ridiculously going about how her mother is so ugly. One girl said how much she hated her mother because she was 5 mins late to picking her up.

And they actually say this out loud. But do they say it to their parents face? I don’t know and i would rather not know because just hearing it hurts me.

SubhanAllah, it’s time people appreciate their mothers. Really it is. And this is a reminder for me first and foremost, because i do deeply inside love and cherish every bit of my mom, but i know i don’t exactly show it. I think that’s thing about us, kids, we just sit in our room, want the food and want to be driven to our friends house.

Mothers day is coming up right? Where the aisles are filled with flowers and cards “thank you for being the best mom ever!”

I don’t need a marked day on the calender to remind me to go hug my mom.

Look how the Quran and Sunnah refer to mothers-

1) Reminder: that pain she went through to have you, was quite a lot:

“We have enjoined on man kindness to his parents; in pain did his mother bear him, and in pain did she give him birth” (46:15).

2) You say you want jannah, well it is closer than you think:

The Prophet Muhammad said, may Allah’s peace and blessings be upon him: Your Heaven lies under the feet of your mother (Ahmad, Nasai).

3) She deserves your companionship:

A man came to the Prophet and said, ‘O Messenger of God! Who among the people is the most worthy of my good companionship? The Prophet said: Your mother. The man said, ‘Then who?’ The Prophet said: Then your mother. The man further asked, ‘Then who?’ The Prophet said: Then your mother. The man asked again, ‘Then who?’ The Prophet said: Then your father. (Bukhari, Muslim).

4) Look at how Essa alayhi asalam protected the honor of his mother:

28. “O sister (i.e. the like) of Hârûn (Aaron) [not the brother of Mûsa (Moses), but he was another pious man at the time of Maryam (Mary)]! Your father was not a man who used to commit adultery, nor your mother was an unchaste woman.”

29. Then she pointed to him. They said: “How can we talk to one who is a child in the cradle?[]

30. “He [‘Iesa (Jesus)] said: Verily! I am a slave of Allâh, He has given me the Scripture and made me a Prophet;”

31. “And He has made me blessed wheresoever I be, and has enjoined on me Salât (prayer), and Zakât, as long as I live.”

32. “And dutiful to my mother, and made me not arrogant, unblest.

What more do i have to say? Let us try to show our mothers our love and appreciation to them– every day.

Leave a Reply

