Got Patience?

Standard

Bismilah,

Over the weekend, my community had a sisters camp alhamdulilah. Other than it being a huge success and a great time, i learnt one very valuable lessons. On Friday night, i had driven to the center in my car (my mothers car) and parked it right outside. I used it a couple of times during the weekend, here and there. I made sure to keep my eye on it, even though it was locked and i had the keys, i just don’t want anything to happen.

As Sunday rolls by, and we start ending the program, we have a bbq outside near the parking lot. As i went to throw out my plate, i look over to the parking lot making sure my cars there (thinking it shouldn’t not be there). But…there i was staring at the empty parking lot. My heart honestly dropped. It hurt to such an extent. I freaked out, ran to my friend who ran with me to see the parking lot….maybe its there but i can’t see it? We ran to the church that was near by..why would my car be there? Allahu alam, lets check. I circulated the center we were at, but my car was not to be in sight.

That was it, my parents gave me the car, an amaanah, and i ‘lost’ it. I didn’t know what to say. I began reading random ayahs not thinking of what i would do. I ran inside to find my purse, make sure my key was there. My key was there…i opened my phone already half in tears then i read a text message from my dad: ‘Am taking the car’

ALHAMDULILAH.

I fell to the floor crying. I didn’t want to get up. My heart was beating too fast, it was not normal. I couldn’t speak i went hysterical.

After i calmed down, after a good 15 mins of freaking out and call my family, i thought to myself “how will i ever deal with a ‘real’ calamity?”

The prophet peace be upon him said: “How wonderful is the affair of the believer, for his affairs are all good, and this applies to no one but the believer. If something good happens to him, he is thankful for it and that is good for him. If something bad happens to him, he bears it with patience and that is good for him.” (Narrated by Muslim, 2999).

Aren’t we supposed to say La ilaah illa Allah, la hawla wa la quta illa billah, once a calamity befalls us?

155. And certainly, We shall test you with something of fear, hunger, loss of wealth, lives and fruits, but give glad tidings to As-Sâbirin (the patient ones, etc.).

156. Who, when afflicted with calamity, say: “Truly! To Allâh we belong and truly, to Him we shall return.”

[Surah 2:155-156]

It is honestly a test of our patience at to how we deal with calamities. I honestly wish to live with the words of the prophet when he said:

“There is no Muslim who is stricken with a calamity and says what Allaah has enjoined – ‘Verily to Allaah we belong and unto Him is our return. O Allaah, reward me for my affliction and compensate me with something better’ – but Allaah will compensate him with something better.” (Muslim)

Wallahu ta’ala Alam

Kinda reminds me of this story 😛

2 responses »

  1. LOL
    except yours is scarier!!!
    at least you weren’t blinded from it and it really wasn’t there!!

    SubhanAllah that car is not normal…. ‘3aleha 7arakat…’
    yallah alhamdulilah

Leave a Reply

