The Misery of Driving

Standard

Bismilah,

Oh driving. Driving. Driving. Driving.

I remember a couple years back, when i used to adore my sister for the fact that she was able to jump in the car and drive away! I was amazed that she was still in highschool, had her own car and was able to pump some gas! Wow. Even now, the fact that she is able to drive in places like Detroit and Jordan, DOP you are my role model! =)

I don’t know why, but recently, driving has been taking a really really large toll on me. It exhausts me, and makes me all grumpy by the end of the day. I still remember how exciting it was to be handed over my official driver license. The lady smiled at me ‘you passed!’ yay! It was my dream come true! Alhamdulilah, i don’t want to complain, it really is a blessing honestly to be able to drive around and what not, but the pain of the construction is just driving me insane.

Why do all the streets decide to begin construction at the same time. It is so time-consuming subhanAllah, a 5 min trip turns into a 30 min trip, just to go to the gym or get a jug of milk!

The other day, i got lost and basically left my city, when my destination was so close. I really feel bad at the way i acted though, no patience no nothing. I don’t like to be wrong, i like it all to be perfect, and getting lost was never an option for me. The thing is, it made me feel just horrible that i didn’t know where i was going, i don’t know why!

Then today, i went to pump some gas, and my credit card would just keep getting disapproved. Omg, did it annoy the everything out of me.

I learnt something though,  my lack of patience, and tolerance for things to go wrong. I think my test now is to appreciate how so much in my life at the moment is going right, wait nothing goes wrong, its my little brain that thinks it goes wrong.

Allah plans and we plan! I need to sticky note this to my wheel! It seems like every time i get in the car now, something must go whack!

As much as we hear the ayah:

“…and it may be that you dislike a thing which is good for you and that you like a thing which is bad for you. Allâh knows but you do not know.” [2:216]

I think i have written at least 52 articles about this one ayah, it’s just everytime i look at it, i find different benefits i can derive from it. The first incident, if i were able to get there in 5 mins, but hey, how do i know that i might have got in a car accident? Alhamdulilah 🙂 i didn’t and would probably never want to be traumatized in such a manner.

We just got to accept the way things happen, not always pleasing to us. It’s life, and we just got to abide by it by being thankful in any situation, trust Allah! Full trust= full reward = full everything! You feel content with anything that goes ‘wrong’ even though that probably is the ‘right’ for us? Lol i’m confusing myself!

Anyways, my schpeel for the day!

Sincerly,
Drained Driver.

5 responses »

  1. Dear Drained Driver,

    This was such a cute post!!
    Driving can be draining at times (esp. when you are in Jordan and you have to have all your senses on cue for the idiots who can’t drive to save their life!), but for me it is relaxing.. Especially when you are listening to quran, and you don’t have to think about the direction or street, you know the way by heart and your feet just do the work.

    I remember when I first drove in detroit, they had crazy construction that my GPS was oblivious too, and it was so frustrating that I knew it was close but couldn’t find my way. Eventually, I threw the GPS aside, and just LEARNED the way- alhamdulillah it became easy after that and the drive was always soothing.

    So try to find the relaxing motor aspect in driving, don’t worry about getting lost and stuff, and enjoy what you have and appreciate it like you suggested.

    jazakiallahu khairan for the advice..

    Sincerely,
    Crazy Wheels

    • Khair inshaAllah, I’m getting obsessed with my new Kalbany CD ❤ ya Rabbii Ramadan memories! I can't even imagine driving in Detroit lol. Thanks for the advice, jazana wa iyaaki ukhty!

  2. Couldn’t you have waited till after I get my license to post this? 😀

    Just kidding, it’s good for me not to be too idealistic.

    Hmm.. I wonder what will happen first: Me get my license vs Windsor’s roads get fixed up insha Allah…

  3. Alhamdulillah the construction here isn’t too dramatic, I find trafic to be a lot more stressful than construction though lol

    I agree with crazy wheels though, driving can be pretty relaxing (as long as whoever is with you in the car isn’t annoying)

Leave a Reply

