My Heart Finds Ease

Standard

The biggest blessing about living in an Arab country has got to be being able to hear the athan… wallahi as much as i try to express my love for just hearing the athan from my window, hearing the iqama, and sometimes on a good day hearing the whole prayer being lead on loudspeaker .. i just cannot put words to my love for it. 

 أرحنا بها يا بلال

Relax us with [the prayer] O Bilal”

A lot of people ask me where is nicer ‘Canada’ or ‘Jordan’ .. each place has its up and downs, but putting just the ease my heart gets hearing the athan on a scale to my love and patriotism to the ‘West’ its basically equal if not more. 

Till now my eyes tear when i hear the athan, because not only do i hear the athan from the mosque beside my house, but i hear the athan of the mosque a couple blocks down, and the one further and the one farther than that. 

There is something ‘magical’ i guess you can say just by hearing the athan. I mean Salah of course in general, is a break out time of our busy lives, but the athan its self, the tranquility it fills your heart with, is just .. astounding. 

Whenever the Prophet sal Allaahu alayhi wa sallam felt sad he would go and pray. And he sal Allaahu alayhi wa sallam would say to Bilal, “Relax us with [the prayer] O Bilal.” Its a serenity. The calling of prayer in itself is a beautiful way to approach salah. 

For me, not only is it ‘athan’ but i feel like it sums up my life, in a few minutes…

I testify in the greatness of Allah, and i testify that Mohammad is his prophet and messenger. Salah, the first thing i will be judged for on the day of Judgment, i ran to it, i leave everything to go to it, i love it. Falaah (success) is what us simple humans aim for. All i want, all i need is to be successful. All i do, all i run after is success in this life and the hereafter. 

Alhamdulilah ❤ 🙂

Leave a Reply

