Hijabiversary

Standard

SubhanAllah, its been exactly 7 years ago today that i began wearing the hijab.

Alhamdulilah ūüėÄ !!!

I was just thinking back to the first day i wore hijab, i remember my outfit. Pink pants, a white shirt with a big butterfly on it, and a pink and white hijab. (girly, eh?) SubhanAllah, and i remember how i went out that day and it was so hot, and i’m like woah, what did i get myself into.

But man… that was the best day of my life. You know why? Because this hijab.. has since that day been my mark in life. My identity. Me.

Being a hijabi well its not a walk in the park, but rather like a stroll down a beautiful lane, that may have a couple rocks you will stumble upon. When i first started wearing hijab, i kinda thought ‘okay, this is it, i made my parents happy, i’m obeying Allah, being a good muslimah… AND mama is going to buy me so many more new outfits. WOOHOO’

Lol, its nice to wear hijab from a young age, i mean at the right age (I was in grade 7) and you won’t know EXACTLY why you are wearing it, but what makes me smile is as I go on in life, and get into situations, read verses in the quran, listen to lectures, i just hold on to it more tightly, thanking Allah for allowing me to be blessed to be able to take on this beautiful thing and wear it.

Mama always says ‘You are what you wear’. And i once heard a quote saying ‘Style is a way to say who you are without speaking’… and it is so true! It means a whole lot that the way i drape my hijab over my head, gives me a whole identity, and because it is such a great¬†responsibility, to be a carrier of this torch, insha’Allah, i ask Allah to allow me and everyone else to be the best muslimah out there ūüôā

I really dislike how all of a sudden a wave of muslim women whom like to¬†label¬†themselves as feminists, have appeared to give their ‘personal’ opinion about why they think hijab isn’t wajib. Lol, its not what you think, it’s what is been written in the quran, for over than 1400 years.

I remember one of my profs telling us about hijab, and he was saying that for all these generations, people have been holding firmly to hijab, when the women at the prophets time heard the verse about covering up, they immediately without a hesitation pulled down their veils and covered their necks, but suddenly an uprise of women have come to for some odd reason, say that its not obligatory and it well holds them back from their freedom.

Yeah. NO.

May Allah guide them, really, i say that from the bottom of my heart, i really hope the women whom like to speak out against hijab, may Allah guide them to see the light the hijab has put in my life. Its been my guide for seven long years, and many more to come, insha’Allah ‚̧

Its beautiful, and i love it. It really is the most beautiful thing ever.

Hijab… well hijab gave me a push in life. Sometimes i was afraid to do things, but with my hijab, it just gave me a boost in my self esteem. I came to love my hijab more when i moved to the west because, not everyone wears hijab .. go figure :P. It made me shine, it toned down my¬†outer¬†beauty to allow others to appreciate something deeper, something within. To listen to me, to look at me as a human, and not to womanize and see my body as just a figure to pose beside a car.

It gave me the right and freedom that shorts and tanktops sure does not give a women.

It made me so much more beautiful. So much more confident. I became a real muslimah. I walk in the streets, and yes everyone knows i am a muslim. I feel as i wear my hijab as a walking flag of islam. And that is the biggest honor for me, to be representing the most beautiful thing sent to mankind.

Alhamdulilah, alhamdulilah, alhamdulilah. Every time i think about my hijab i want to make sujood alshukr for that Allah jalla wa 3ala has allowed me to be able to wear it, and made me shine in it.

I love it! ūüėÄ

My fave pictorials about hijab – igotitcovered.org

Image

Image

Image

Image

Please share your stories of how you came to wear hijab, or just what you love about it ūüôā

One response »

  1. I have always known since I was a little girl that I would one day wear the hijab. In OAC (grade 13 back in the day), I would see this girl walking around the halls of school wearing the hijab. I admired her and I never knew her at the time. I think she was the only one in our school at the time who wore hijab. She made a huge impact on me and never knew it. I even remember once my dad and I were driving down Lauzon and we saw her walking and my dad turned and said to me, masha’Allah, insha’Allah one day you will wear hijab like her. Then during my first semester in University, September 2001, my best friend, Nahida, who was also someone who had a huge impact on me, and I put the hijab on together. She was such a good influence on me and I will always be grateful to her. Someone else who really had a wonderful impact on me was my khalo Yousef. It was the best decision I have ever made in my life. I am thankful to Allah swt for guiding me, Alhamdulillah ‚̧
    P.S. That girl in high school was the beautiful Sireen Chaker ‚̧ ūüôā

Leave a Reply

