Come to Success

Standard

As Isha athan went off, i was studying out of my big psych textbook.. i put it all down, took off my glasses and put my face between my palms.. and stopped. For a min out of hours of studying i just needed a break.

I breathed. i stopped. I looked out the window, and for the first time in a while, i saw my life pass in front of me. I just thought for a minute to myself… what is success?

We sometimes get so caught up with life, in my case, so caught up in studying, that i just forget what i’m really here for. I mean success has a different definition for everyone, and i feel like it can change as we get older, experience more, and learn more about ourselves…

Image

The word ‘success’ in arab is falaah (فلاح ) – falaah comes from the root falh, meaning ‘farmer’… a farmer is the greatest example for success because a farmer is a perfect example of someone whom works, from 6am in the morning till sunset – making sure all his crops are well harvested, and all that fun stuff 🙂 a farmer puts all his heart into what he works with, he works, and breaks a sweat, but in return, he ‘literally’ sees the fruit of his work.

And that is what we need to aim to do. We are all farmers in this life, working, harvesting the seeds that on the Day of Judgment will be ripe fruits to witness for us… We need to work hard, we need to be tested, because just like farmers, the weather isn’t always going to help, there might be a drought, or crows might enter their fields, but that doesn’t cause them to sit in a corner and cry. They work, they put it all in, and leave the rest to Allah.

So, work hard, think for the future, do something with your life… and break a sweat for once.

“I have learned that success is to be measured not so much by the position that one has reached in life as by the obstacles which he has overcome while trying to succeed.”

Rant for the day- back to midterm studying… 😦

Leave a Reply

